The Department of Linguistics, Igbo and Other Nigerian Languages started as a sub-department under the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures in 1974, and in 1981, it gained its autonomy as a full-fledged department. Dr. P.A. Nwachukwu was its pioneer head of department. The department was until 2005 called and referred to as Department of Linguistics and Nigerian Languages.

In 1961, the Department of Mass Communication, then known as the Jackson College of Journalism was established at the University of Nigeria. In 2006, the Department started PGD and Ph.D programmes and revised its Masters programme. In 2007, the Department acquired fully digitized radio and TV studios.

The Department of Fine and Applied Arts was founded in 1961 and since inception has developed and popularized Igbo patterns for body and wall painting known as Uli. It has produced world-acclaimed artists in all aspects of the course.

The Department of Theater and Film Studies, also known as the Robeson School of Dramatics is named after renowned African-America actor Paul Robeson. It started as sub-department of Dramatic Arts. The department achieved a full departmental status in 2004 and since then it has graduated many students at first degree and higher degree levels.

The Department of Archaeology was founded on August 1, 1981, when the department separated from the Department of History. It began with a B.A. Combined Honours Programme. In 1985, the Single Honours Programme was introduced. In an attempt to bring the departmental programme in line with current trends in Archaeology as well as the desire to equip students to face the challenges posed by today’s globalized environment, the Department of Archaeology in 2004 developed an embracing curriculum leading to B.A. Hons in Archaeology and B.A. Hons in Tourism, lately changed to B. A. Hons in Archaeology and Tourism. Consequently, the department changed its name to Archaeology and Tourism, and awards in addition PG.D, M.A. and Ph.D degrees.

The Department of Foreign Languages and Literature was first established in 1961 under the name, Department of Languages. Subsequently, the Department was renamed Department of Foreign Languages and then later, Department of Foreign Languages and Literary Studies. It offers French as the major degree programme and German, Russian and Spanish as subsidiaries.

The Department of Music has also been productive since inception in 1961. It was the first autonomous university department of music in Nigeria. It is in fact the mother of all the Departments of Music in Nigerian universities. Its programmes are designed to produce skillful, versatile and experienced musicians and musicologists, emphasis being placed on performance and competence. The graduates and diplomats are trained to appreciate, analyze, practice and communicate African and world music as performance as well as literary art.

The motto of the Faculty is Arts for Living. This motto aptly captures the academic and creative engagements of the Faculty. The Faculty has since its inception graduated hundreds of doctoral candidates and thousands of Masters and Bachelors degree students who are well placed and are helping to develop society in virtually all fields of endeavor both at home and abroad